Investing in the future of journalism

The Livingston Awards: Committed to fostering excellence in journalism and supporting the next generation of journalism leaders.
2019 Livingston Award winners: Chris Outcalt, Kate Wells, Lindsey Smith and Davey Alba


About the Award

The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established in 1981 to recognize outstanding reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35.

Each year, prizes of $10,000 each are presented in local, national and international reporting. Winners are selected by our panel of judges, who share a long-time commitment to our program and are highly respected for their achievements in journalism.

The Livingston Awards invites print, online, video, audio and data visualization entries.

Winning the award helps talented young reporters develop the confidence and the institutional backing to continue producing ambitious projects. National recognition leads winners to new stories, new audiences and new career opportunities. The distinguished names of past winners include David Remnick, Christiane Amanpour, Ira Glass, Michelle Norris and Steve Coll.

In addition, the Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The Clurman Award is presented at the annual Livingston Awards luncheon. More about the Clurman Award »

Awards are presented at a luncheon event in New York City. Leading media figures and the winners’ families and colleagues attend to honor the winners and acknowledge their role in the future of American journalism.

To enter the Livingston Awards in local, national or international reporting, send us your best work of 2019 by February 1, 2020.

To nominate a journalism mentor for the Clurman Award, send us your nominations by February 1, 2020.

Learn how to enter the Livingston Awards »

Learn how to nominate your journalism mentor for the Clurman Award »


How It Started

Mollie Parnis Livingston, one of America’s first fashion designers known by name, established the Livingston Awards in 1981 to honor her son, Robert, who published the journalism review More.

Mollie loved the top young talent in the fashion business, and gathered them around her, a practice she later extended to journalists. To her delight, she realized that the awards were creating a journalistic “family” of considerable and growing distinction. Her prizes for young journalists recognized talent early and encouraged quality journalism—something both Mollie and her son Robert cared deeply about.

Richard Clurman, former Chief of Correspondents for Time-Life News Service, conceived of the awards with Mollie, and brought aboard Charles Eisendrath to design and implement the prize.


The Livingston Lectures

Livingston winners share their stories with audiences beyond journalism at speaking engagements arranged by the Livingston Awards. The Livingston Lectures, part of the Wallace House Presents event series, spark conversation and connect winners to communities affected by the issues exposed in the winning stories. See upcoming Livingston Lecture event »



For 30 years, The Mollie Parnis Livingston Foundation, headed by Livingston’s nephew Neal Hochman, sponsored the awards.

Sponsors now include Dr. Gilbert Omenn and Martha Darling, the Indian Trail Charitable Foundation, Christiane Amanpour, the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and the University of Michigan.

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation advances journalism in the digital age and invests in the vitality of communities where the Knight brothers owned newspapers. The Knight Foundation focuses on projects that promote informed and engaged communities and lead to transformational change. For more information visit knightfoundation.org.