The Livingston Awards honor the best reporting and storytelling by young journalists.

The finalist selections were chosen from more than 500 entries for work released in 2019.

Excellence in Local Reporting

Bridget Balch
Richmond Times-Dispatch
Michael Barajas
Texas Observer
Neil Bedi
Tampa Bay Times
Caroline Chen
ProPublica co-published with NJ Advance Media and WNYC
Emily Corwin
New Hampshire Public Radio
Taylor Elizabeth Eldridge
Type Investigations in partnership with The Appeal
Alyssa Hodenfield
The Sacramento Bee
Lizzie Johnson
San Francisco Chronicle
Spencer Kent
NJ Advance Media
Marisa M. Kashino
Taylor Mirfendereski
Danielle Muoio
Politico New York
Tim Prudente
The Baltimore Sun
Dylan Segelbaum
The York Daily Record
Amber South
The York Daily Record
Marina Starleaf Riker
San Antonio Express-News
Alain Stephens
The Trace in partnership with NBC Bay Area, NBC San Diego and NBC Los Angeles

Excellence in National Reporting

Stuart A. Thompson
The New York Times
Emily Baumgaertner
Los Angeles Times
Helena Bottemiller Evich
Assia Boundaoui
Jacob Carah
Ashley Cleek
Latino USA
Robert Downen
Houston Chronicle
Abby Ellis
Katie Engelhart
The California Sunday Magazine
Ryan Felton
Consumer Reports
Brian Freskos
The Trace in partnership with The New Yorker
Kenny Jacoby
USA Today Network
Emily Kassie
The Marshall Project in partnership with The Guardian
Janice Llamoca
Latino USA
Jack Nicas
The New York Times
Bobby Olivier
NJ Advance Media
Kayla Ruble
Michael Sol Warren
NJ Advance Media
Charlie Warzel
The New York Times

Excellence in International Reporting

Rosalind Adams
BuzzFeed News
Sarah Butrymowicz
The Hechinger Report in partnership with Marie Claire
Isabel Coles
The Wall Street Journal
Olivia Goldhill
Jarrad Henderson
USA Today
Andrew Keh
The New York Times
Natasha Khan
The Wall Street Journal
Kate Linthicum
Los Angeles Times
Brett Murphy
USA Today Network
Molly O'Toole
Los Angeles Times
Blake Sobczak
E&E News
Ben Solomon
Chris Walker
Rock and Ice Magazine
Max de Haldevang

Knight-Wallace Fellowships


International Fellowship Applications Are Now Closed  
U.S. Applications Are Now Closed  

Livingston Awards

HOW TO ENTER Entry forms for work published in 2019 are no longer available