Clurman Award

2019 Clurman Award
Recipients of the Richard M. Clurman Award for mentoring (clockwise from top left) include Stephen Shepard (pictured with David Remnick), Sandra Mims Rowe (pictured with Anna Quindlen), the late Gwen Ifill (pictured with Yamichi Alcindor) and Walt Mossberg (pictured with Lauren Goode).

Honoring Newsroom Leaders and Mentors

The Livingston Awards, a program honoring journalists under the age of 35, recognizes that every young journalist succeeds with the guidance and support of an experienced journalist. The Richard M. Clurman Award honors these on-the-job mentors who stand out for nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. Through their commitment, these individuals make a vital contribution to fostering excellence in journalism. The Clurman Award stands alongside the Livingston Awards in bolstering the work of young journalists and developing the next generation of reporters and newsroom leaders. Named for Richard M. Clurman, an editor at Time from 1948 to 1972 and architect of the Livingston Awards program, the Clurman Award is presented each June at the annual Livingston Awards ceremony. 

2022 Clurman Award Recipient

The Livingston Awards honored the late Fred Hiatt with the 2022 Richard M. Clurman Award for his personal commitment to counsel, nurture and inspire young journalists. Hiatt was the editorial editor for The Washington Post, where he worked from 2000 until his death in 2021. During his career, Hiatt’s advice and support changed the lives and career paths of many journalists.

“Somehow, Fred saw through the writer I was to the writer I wanted to be, one I couldn’t have become without his patience and support, one encouraging email at a time…Fred must have had access to some reservoir of time that most people do not, because I can name dozens of people who feel the same gratitude for the doors he opened.” – Alexandra Petri of The Washington Post.

The Richard M. Clurman Legacy

In the life of every successful journalist, there is a special colleague who goes above and beyond to advise, critique, applaud and inspire. Richard M. Clurman was such a person. His career at Time included a post as chief of correspondents and head of the Time-Life News Service. Throughout the 1960s, Clurman oversaw a staff of 105 reporters stationed around the globe.

Always passionate about elevating the work of young journalists, Clurman helped Mollie Parnis Livingston to envision and establish the Livingston Awards and became a founding member of the Mollie Parnis Livingston Foundation’s board. Following Clurman’s passing in 1996, the Livingston Awards board and panel of judges elected to memorialize his legacy, creating a new award for journalists in his honor: the Richard M. Clurman Award for mentors in journalism.

Richard M. Clurman
Richard M. Clurman

Nominate Your Journalism Mentor

Was there an on-the-job mentor who made a difference in your journalism career and the careers of other journalists? Introduce us to your mentor and enter your nomination for the Clurman Award here.

Nominations for the 2024 Clurman Award are closed.