Announcing the 2023 Livingston Award Finalists

April 28, 2023

  • 2023 |

Wallace House Center for Journalists and the University of Michigan announced today the 2023 Livingston Awards finalists in local, national, and international reporting. The awards support young journalists and honor the best reporting and storytelling by journalists under the age of 35 across all forms of journalism. The finalist selections were chosen from more than 450 entries for work released in 2022.

This year’s winners will be announced on June 13, 2023, at an in-person awards ceremony hosted by Anna Quindlen with a special tribute to Ken Auletta for his enduring commitment to the Livingston Awards and the careers of young journalists. 

“This year’s finalists and the issues they pursued affirm the commitment of young reporters to tackle the toughest of stories,” said Lynette Clemetson, director of the awards and the Wallace House Center for Journalists.  “The breathtaking range of this exceptional work demonstrates the unique ability of journalism to make us stop, take notice, bear witness, and expect accountability.” 

Celebrating its 42nd year, the awards bolster the work of young reporters, create the next generation of journalism leaders and mentors, and advance civic engagement around powerful storytelling. The sponsors include the University of Michigan, the Knight Foundation, the Indian Trail Charitable Foundation, the Mollie Parnis Livingston Foundation, Christiane Amanpour, Dr. Gil Omenn and Martha Darling, the Judy and Fred Wilpon Foundation, Emerson Collective, W.K. Kellogg Foundation, The Associated Press and The New Yorker.

The Livingston Awards regional judges read all qualifying entries to select the finalists in local, national and international reporting. The regional judging panel includes Molly Ball, national political correspondent, TIME; Stella Chávez, immigration and demographics reporter, KERA Public Radio (Dallas); Chris Davis, deputy for the Local Investigative Reporting Fellowship, The New York Times; David Greene, Co-founder, Fearless Media and Host, “Left, Right & Center” KCRW (Los Angeles); Stephen Henderson, Executive Editor, BridgeDetroit and Host, WDET, public radio Detroit and Detroit Public Television; Shirley Leung, columnist and associate editor, The Boston Globe; and Amna Nawaz, co-anchor, PBS “NewsHour.”

The Livingston Awards national judges review all finalist entries and select the winners. The national judges are Raney Aronson-Rath, executive producer, “FRONTLINE”; Sally Buzbee, executive editor, The Washington Post; Sewell Chan, editor in chief, The Texas Tribune; Audie Cornish, anchor and correspondent, CNN; Matt Murray, consultant, News Corp; Lydia Polgreen, opinion columnist, The New York Times; María Elena Salinas, contributor, ABC News; Bret Stephens, opinion columnist, The New York Times; and Kara Swisher, executive producer, Code Conference.

We present the 2023 Livingston Awards finalists and invite you to review their work here.

Local Reporting

  • Mayowa Aina and Kari Plog, KNKX Public Radio and The Seattle Times
  • James Barragán and Davis Winkie, The Texas Tribune and Military Times
  • Sarah Blaskeand Nicholas Nehamas, Miami Herald
  • Marisa Gerber, Los Angeles Times
  • Niki Griswold, Austin American-Statesman
  • Samantha Hogan, The Maine Monitor
  • Maya Kaufman, Crain’s New York Business
  • David Leffler and Savanna Strott, Public Health Watch in partnership with The Pulitzer Center, the Investigative Reporting Workshop and Grist
  • Alex Mann, The Baltimore Sun
  • Max Nesterak, Minnesota Reformer
  • Krystal Nurse, Lansing State Journal
  • Phoebe Petrovic and Nina Earnest, Wisconsin Watch and Wisconsin Public Radio 
  • Albert Samaha, BuzzFeed News
  • Will Sennott, The New Bedford Light in partnership with ProPublica
  • Langston Taylor and Zachary T. Sampson, Tampa Bay Times
  • Trisha Thadani, San Francisco Chronicle 
  • Carter Walker, LNP | LancasterOnline
  • Julie Zauzmer Weil, Adrian Blanco Ramos and Leo Dominguez, The Washington Post
  • Anna Wolfe, Mississippi Today 

 National Reporting

  • Rachel Adams-Heard and Davis Land, Bloomberg News
  • Marshall Cohen, Zachary Cohen and Dan Merica, CNN
  • Jasper Craven, Mother Jones
  • Gaby Del Valle, The Verge
  • Caitlin Dickerson, The Atlantic
  • Robert Downen, The Houston Chronicle
  • Nicholas Florko, STAT
  • Alex Heath, The Verge
  • Astead W. Herndon, The New York Times
  • Cassandra Jaramillo, Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Caroline Kitchener, The Washington Post
  • Ava Kofman, The New Yorker and ProPublica
  • Samantha Michaels and Mark Helenowski, Mother Jones
  • Brett Murphy, ProPublica
  • Elissa Nadworny and Lauran Migaki, NPR
  • Andrea Patiño Contreras, Univision News Digital
  • Alexandra Rain, Deseret News
  • Lauren Rosenthal, Jamie Hobbs and Anna Canny, American Public Media
  • Meg Shutzer and Rachel Lauren Mueller, The New York Times and the Investigative Reporting Program at the University of California, Berkeley, Graduate School of Journalism
  • Anjali Singhvi, The New York Times

 International Reporting

  • Lynzy Billing, ProPublica
  • Regine Cabato and Shibani Mahtani, The Washington Post
  • Isabelle Khurshudyan and Kamila Hrabchuk, The Washington Post
  • Oscar Lopez, The New York Times
  • Matthew Luxmoore, The Wall Street Journal
  • Lyse Mauvais and Solin Muhammed Amin, Al-Monitor
  • Leila Miller, Los Angeles Times
  • Alexander Sammon, The New Republic
  • Mia Sato, The Verge
  • Emily Schultheis, Coda Story
  • Sarah Souli, The Atavist
  • Vasilisa Stepanenko, The Associated Press
  • Sam Tabachnik, The Denver Post
  • Elizabeth Trovall, Houston Chronicle
  • Vivian YeeAllison McCann and Josh Holder, The New York Times

More on the finalists’ work and links to watch, listen and read here.